Djokovic: I can beat Nadal at Roland Garros 6 June 2013 14:58

World number one Novak Djokovic
believes he can overcome Rafael Nadal
and reach the final of the French Open.
The Serb takes on the seven-time
champion on Friday after seeing off
Tommy Haas in the quarter finals, and
will take heart from his victory against
the Spaniard on clay at Monte Carlo in
April.
This, as well as having a plan of action
ready, is enough for Djokovic to fancy
his chances when he steps on to court
to face a player he has beaten 15 times
in his career, but who has only ever lost
one match at Roland Garros.
“I know the game plan, and I’m going
to be confident and step into the court
with self belief,” Djokovic said.
“I know what it takes to beat him. I’m
going to win – that’s the mindset.
“I played him in Monte Carlo earlier this
year and on clay. I played a fantastic
match, and I know what it takes to win
against him.”
Nadal, an 11-time grand slam winner,
has beaten the Serb 19 times
previously, including victory in last
year’s French Open final.
The world number four has been in
impressive form since returning from a
long-term knee injury in February, most
recently winning the Rome Masters, and
he claims the lack of pressure
surrounding his comeback has helped
him.
“I am able to play with less pressure
than before because I know from where
I came here,” he explained.
“From a very low situation, very low
moments, so everything is positive for
me.
“In these kind of matches, if you don’t
take opportunities you’re in big trouble,
because the opponent is probably going
to take his opportunities.”
The winner of the clash will face either
Nadal’s compatriot David Ferrer or
home favourite Jo-Wilfried Tsonga in the
final on Sunday.

image

Leave a Reply

