Wenger won’t reveal targets

image

Arsene Wenger was as secretive as
ever when grilled about his transfer
targets ahead of Arsenal’s date with
Fenerbahce.
Arsenal go into the second leg of
their Champions League qualifier on
Tuesday with free signing Yaya
Sanogo still the only addition to the
squad which squeezed into fourth
place last season.
Real Madrid trio Karim Benzema,
Angel Di Maria and Mesut Ozil are
the latest names linked with the
club, and Newcastle have rejected
one bid for their France midfielder
Yohan Cabaye.
But a guarded Wenger stonewalled at
a press conference when asked to
identify his targets, instead launching
an animated defence of the side
which won 3-0 in Turkey last week
and registered a first league win of
the season at Fulham on Saturday.
He said: “I will not give you any
names because I think it would be
unfair for the players and create
some wrong hopes.
“You can see that many of the
disputes you have all over the
country are because managers speak
about players. In our job it’s just –
be discrete and try to make things
happen, that’s what we try to do.
“You can come back to me and say
‘yes, but you don’t make things
happen’ but still most important is
what happens on the football pitch.
The rest? We work very hard on it.”
Asked if he expected to sign anyone
before the weekend he said: “I have
no fixed day because the delays don’t
depend on us only. It’s very difficult
to predict.
“We have not a fixed number (of
targets), I just think we are a bit
short at the moment. The most
important is to focus on the quality
of the squad we have and to play the
football we want to play.
“I am guided by my conscience to do
as well as I can for this club and by
the vision of the game I want to play.
“I feel with the players we have we
can play the football we want to play,
and I am a great admirer of the spirit
and attitude of these players. They
are special, and if i want to add
something it has to be special.
“I still am optimistic and I hope I
will not disappoint you!”

posted by janjaweed!

Leave a Reply

