Real complete Bale deal

image

Tottenham and Real Madrid have
confirmed that a deal has been
completed for the transfer of Gareth
Bale to the Spanish side for a world
record fee.
Madrid say the 24-year-old Welsh
winger will sign a six-year contract,
pending the completion of a medical,
and it is believed he will cost them
100m euros (£85.3m).
He will be presented as a Real player
at noon UK time on Monday, in front
of 80,000 fans at the Club’s Bernabeu
Stadium.
Bale has released a statement in
which he said: “I have had six very
happy years at Tottenham but it’s
the right time to say goodbye.
“We’ve had some special times
together over the years and I’ve loved
every minute of it.
“I would like to thank everyone at the
Club; the Chairman, Board, staff,
coaches and players and, most of all,
the fantastic fans, who I hope will
understand this amazing career
opportunity.
“I am not sure there is ever a good
time to leave a club where I felt
settled and was playing the best
football of my career to date. I know
many players talk of their desire to
join the club of their boyhood dreams
but, I can honestly say, this is my
dream come true.
“I am well aware that I would not be
at the level I am today were it not
for, firstly Southampton, and then
Spurs, standing by me during some of
the tougher times and affording me
the environment and support they
have.
“Tottenham will always be in my
heart and I’m sure that this season
will be a successful one for them. I
am now looking forward to the next
exciting chapter in my life, playing
football for Real Madrid.”
Tottenham chairman Daniel Levy said:
“Gareth was a player we had
absolutely no intention of selling, as
we look to build for the future.
“He is a player whose career we have
fostered and developed, and he was
only a year into his new four-year
contract.
“Such has been the attention from
Real Madrid and so great is Gareth’s
desire to join them, that we have
taken the view that the player will
not be sufficiently committed to our
campaign in the current season.
“We have, therefore, with great
reluctance, agreed to this sale, and
do so in the knowledge that we have
an exceptionally strong squad.
“We wish Gareth all the best in the
future and he shall always be
welcome at(White Hart) Lane.”
Tottenham signed Bale for £10m from
Southampton in 2007 but he made
little impact initially and was on the
verge of being sent out on loan at
one point.
However, he thrived once given a
more attacking role and was named
the PFA Players’ Player of the Year for
the 2010/11 season.
And he took his game to stunning
new heights last season, once again
winning the PFA Player of the Year
award, as well as the young player of
the year gong, after a sensational
campaign packed with spectacular
goals.
However, Spurs were unable to
qualify for the Champions League,
which may have been a factor in
Bale’s desire for a new challenge.
Speaking after Tottenham’s 1-0 loss
to Arsenal on Sunday, Spurs boss
Andre Villas-Boas said of Bale: “The
player is an absolutely wonderful
player.
“He has left us with some great
memories from last season, which
every Tottenham fan cherishes, but
he has moved on and we will move
on as well.”

posted by janjaweed!

Leave a Reply

