Bale unveiled at Bernabeu

image

Gareth Bale has been introduced to
thousands of Real Madrid supporters
at the Bernabeu after sealing his
world-record move.
The Wales international signed a six-
year contract at the stadium hours
after a successful medical
examination in the Spanish capital.
And Bale, whose £85.3m transfer from
Tottenham makes him the world’s
most expensive player, addressed
fans in both English and Spanish
after an introduction from Real
president Florentino Perez.
He said: “I just want to say that it’s
absolutely amazing to be here – a
dream come true – and I hope I can
help the team bring success to the
club. Hopefully this year we can win
the 10th European title.”
Bale then thanked supporters, in
Spanish, for their warm welcome and
left the stage to a huge ovation
before reappearing on the pitch in
full kit for the obligatory ball-
juggling.
An earlier statement from Bale read:
“I have had six very happy years at
Tottenham but it’s the right time to
say goodbye.
“We’ve had some special times
together over the years and I’ve loved
every minute of it.
“I would like to thank everyone at the
club; the chairman, board, staff,
coaches and players and, most of all,
the fantastic fans, who I hope will
understand this amazing career
opportunity.
“I am not sure there is ever a good
time to leave a club where I felt
settled and was playing the best
football of my career to date. I know
many players talk of their desire to
join the club of their boyhood dreams
but, I can honestly say, this is my
dream come true.
“I am well aware that I would not be
at the level I am today were it not
for, firstly Southampton, and then
Spurs, standing by me during some of
the tougher times and affording me
the environment and support they
have.
“Tottenham will always be in my
heart and I’m sure that this season
will be a successful one for them. I
am now looking forward to the next
exciting chapter in my life, playing
football for Real Madrid.”

posted by janjaweed!

Leave a Reply

